I See You Now

The earth shakes and that starts an earthquake. 

I was blinded by the horizon in the distance. 

Snow fell in the desert and it was an odd climate change. 

I could feel your breath on my shoulder as you held me closer. 

Time to wake up now cause the dream is over. 

I see you now, making the vow.

I could see it now, when reality hits. 

I see her zipping the lace dress that fits. 

Her pearls white as day. 

You rehearse a song, romantic in every way. 

Every room was running frantic to get ready for a wedding, in her eyes, so tragic. 

Instead of me, I stood in front of the room staring at the groom. 

I just wish this pain would end soon. 

Best friends for years. 

Can’t stand these tears.

I wish it was me who has lace down to my feet. 

But I see you now, staring in the mirror happily. 

So handsome as can be. 

I wish I can leave. 

As I continue to stare at this monstrosity in this reality. 

I see you now, reading her your vow. 

Reading it out loud. I wish I can be proud.

Though he is my best friend.

This is not how this story ends. 

I see you nowm handsome with the suit and black tie. 

You stare into my eyes. 

I throw a fake smile. 

One sided love is hard to deal. 

Tears drenched the dress colored teal. 

How I wish I can taste his lips still. 

No knowledge of my feelings towards him. 

I thought my chances were slim. 

I see him now, dancing the stars away with someone else. 

I reach for the champagne bottle thinking it will help. 

I fade into the distance gripping the stone wall. 

I see him now, standing with her so tall. 

Wished his voice had the urge to purge out my name.

More tears came and it cannot be tamed. 

I wish I can fall. 

Down to the ground to a bottomless pit. 

I see him now, singing his song. 

To a woman he held so strong. 

OMG! I’m crying hysterically. This is so wrong.

Leave a comment